Rulers index

The diplomatic letters were sent to Batavia Castle by hundreds of different kings, sultans, governors and other power holders from across a very broad region which included not only the Indonesian archipelago, but the whole of Asia, and stretching west as far as the Middle East, Africa and Europe. All of these rulers had their successors, and this is also evident when studying these letters. In different ways, this page provides a clear overview of all the rulers found in these letters, including their kingdoms’ locations, the period of their respective reigns, and the amount of letters they sent and received.

The top ten diplomats and monarchs who corresponded with Batavia by diplomatic letter are presented here:

Download the full overview here of the rulers and ordered by their total number of letters

Download the full overview here, ordered geographically and chronologically

Download more background information about the rulers and the chronology of their reign, as presented here in a separate overview by Maarten Manse and Simon Kemper

Browsing and searching for rulers

The names of the rulers engaged in this diplomatic correspondence can be browsed and searched for. This includes both the original correspondents and those receiving the letters. The ruler’s names are standardized according to modern spelling and are arranged alphabetically. Rulers may have different alternative names in the letters, and these alternative names are also mentioned for each ruler. For research purposes, the ruler’s alternative names will all direct the researcher to the standardized name.

You searched for: first_letter is L. We found 102 results.

Name Alternative names Location Number of letters
La Dini Sultan Syaifuddin (1697-1702) La Dini
Oputa Kiabumbu Malanga
Buton 10
La Mapasossong Jaliluddin Abdul Rajab (1749-1775) Sultan Abdul Razzaq
La Mappasossong To Appaware Petta Paduka Sri Sultan Abdul Razzaq Jalal ud-din ibni al-Marhum Sultan Idris Azim ud-din [Matinroe ri-Malimungang]
Bone 27
La Mappajanci (1758-1782) Soppeng 2
La Padang Sajati (1715-1720) Bone 12
La Padangsajati (1714-1720) Soppeng 2
La Parappa (1721-1724) La Parappa To' Aparapu Sappewali Daeng Bonto Madanrang Karaeng Anamonjang Paduka Sri Sultan Shahab  ud-din Ismail ibni al-Marhum Sultan Idris Azim ud-din
Bone 3
La Patau (1696-1714) La Patau Paduka Sri Sultan Idris Azim ud-din
Matinroa ri Nagaulang Idris
Bone 34
La Sadaha Sultan Syamsuddin (1702-1709) Sangia I Kaesabu Sultan Syamsuddin
Oputa Mosabuna Yi Kaesabu
Buton 5
La Tenrituppu Ahmad Dursale Syamsuddin (1775-1812) La Tenri Tappu To’ Appaliweng Arung Timurung Paduka Sri Sultan Ahmad as-Saleh Shams ud-din
Bone 24
La Tumpamana Sultan Zainuddin (1680-1689) Sangia Yi Kaesabuncili-ncili
Buton 7
La Ubi Sultan Nasiruddin (1709-1711) Oputa Mosabuna Yi Walangke
Buton 1
La Umati Sultan Liauddin Ismail (1689-1697) Sultan Liyauddin Ismail
Oputa Sangia Kopea
Buton 4
Lafu Koen Funai 2
Lasi Tepak (1760-1770) Kupang 2
Lawrence Chambers EIC regent in Banten
Banten 2
Lay Lor Nusa Dila 3
Leaders of the Chinese community in Batavia Batavia 1
Lewana Lewana Christiaan Lewana
Korbaffo 8
Li Fa Le Kho Syahbandar of Ayutthaya
Ayutthaya 1
Li Kong Hu Amoy 1